SCB 2019 Global Distinguished Service Awards

SCB 2019 Global Distinguished Service Awards

About SCB Awards

In 1987, shortly after its founding, the Society for Conservation Biology started an awards tradition to recognize scientists and institutions from around the world for extraordinary contributions to conservation biology and the preservation of Earth’s biodiversity. Past winners include Albert Gore, Eleanor Sterling, Michael Soulé, Georgina Mace, E.O. Wilson, David Attenborough, Phoebe Barnard, Bat Conservation International, and the Marine Mammal Commission.

Until 2011, SCB Service Awards were presented annually at the International Congress for Conservation Biology. Following SCB’s 25th ICCB in Auckland, New Zealand in 2011, ICCB moved to a biennial schedule. Today, SCB Global Service Awards are presented in years when ICCB is held and SCB Regional Service Awards are presented in years where SCB Groups host regional congresses.

SCB 2019 Global Distinguished Service Awards Nominations

SCB Service Award Types

  • Distinguished Service Award: Recognizes individuals, groups or institutions for distinguished service in any field associated with conservation biology and whose work has furthered the mission of SCB. Individuals may also be nominated for the following special categories of Distinguished Service Awards.
  • The Edward T. LaRoe III Memorial Award: Given to an individual who has been a leader in translating principles of conservation biology into real-world conservation. Preference is given to employees of government agencies or individuals who have spent at least part of their career in public service. The intention of the award is to recognize the innovative application of science to resource management and policy.
  • The Early Career Conservationist Award: Honors achievements in conservation by professionals early in their careers (no more than 10 years since leaving school). SCB does not apply an age criteria in order to enable eligibility for individuals who might have come to conservation as a second career.
  • The Conservation Beacon Award: Recognizes women of marginalized and multiply marginalized status that are traditionally under-served within higher education.  Inclusive of this group are women of colour, low socioeconomic status, women with disabilities, trans women, first generation women scholars, lesbians and other intersections that result in under-served women in higher education.

The SCB Awards Committee reserves the right to shift a candidate from one award category to another.

Submitting Your Nomination:

  • Please include the name of the nominee and the award type in the subject line of your email (i.e. Juan Pérez – Early Career Conservationist Award Nomination).
  • Letters of support may be pasted into your nomination form or submitted separately as PDF or Word files.
  • All materials (nomination form and letters of support) should be submitted together, in one email.
  • Complete and return the nomination form and letters of support to  by Friday 18 January 2019.
Event Location Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
SCB 2019 Global Distinguished Service Awards
Society for Conservation Biology
Book now with COMPANYCSR Save 0% Off On Your Ticket Purchase
We love to promote awesome CSR Events, Conference, Workshop, Summit 36 other events are already listed
Submit Events Listing